Filipino Martial Arts in the Movies: Aaron Eckhart trained in Kali Stick Fighting for I, Frankenstein

I, Frankenstein Movie Poster

Photo credit: ropeofsilicon.com

Most avid fans of FMA already know that Kali/Arnis/Eskrima has been featured in The Bourne Series, Mission Impossible III, The Hunted and many other action-packed Hollywood flicks.

I, Frankenstein joins this ever-growing list and is the most recent Filipino Martial Arts-influenced film, as far as I know. Aaron Eckhart stars as the modern-day monster (Adam Frankenstein) in this movie adaptation of Mary Shelley‘s classic novel. Although, the movie is based mainly on the graphic novel by Kevin Grevioux.

According to the video interview below, Aaron Eckhart spent a grueling 6-month training in Kali stick fighting. Like many people, he had never heard of Filipino Martial Arts before. He found Eskrima very tough and dangerous discipline. Without a doubt!

Now, the curious cat in me wanted to know who trained him in FMA for this role. And the ever reliable Wikipedia told me Ron Balicki and Diana Lee Inosanto were the FMA teachers and choreographers for his and Miranda Otto‘s fight scenes. My guess was 50% right, Diana Lee Inosanto.

Have a glimpse of their Kali training:

And of course, here’s the official I, Frankenstein trailer:

Looks like a pretty badass movie to me. Bad review though on Rotten Tomatoes. I don’t care. I’d still watch it. Have you seen it? How was it? Be sure to tell me in the comments below! πŸ˜‰

Want more related reading? Check these out:

Aaron Eckhart gets physical for I, Frankenstein
Pinoy martial-art form in I, Frankenstein

2 thoughts on “Filipino Martial Arts in the Movies: Aaron Eckhart trained in Kali Stick Fighting for I, Frankenstein

  1. You’re a very good researcher, curious cat. Yes, Kali is very tough and dangerous, and we love it so right? Right!

Got something to say? Comment below!